Bob Milne, Leonard Burtman and the Eulenspiegel Society Selected for Leather Hall of Fame

The Board of Governors of the Leather Hall of Fame (LHOF) is pleased to announce the 2011 inductees: Bob Milne, Leonard Burtman and the Eulenspiegel Society.

Bob Milne was one of the founders of the gay male SM movement in New York City. Milne came to New York in 1950, before there were actual leather bars and when leather social life mainly consisted of private parties. Milne was one of the main organizers of these parties and of the growing leather presence in gay bars in the 1950s, such as Shaws on Third Avenue.

Leonard Burtman was a publisher, filmmaker, photographer and writer, and is considered the father of the modern fetish publishing industry. He created the first nationwide distribution for kink, the first large successful multi-enterprise kink business, and successfully defended his publications from legal attacks. Burtman was the center of the American heterosexual kink community from the 1950s - 1980s. In 1962 he produced Satan in High Heels, the first fetish film for a mainstream audience. He contributed to the early development of dominatrix Monique von Cleef and publisher House of Milan.

The Eulenspiegel Society (TES) is the oldest and largest BDSM support and education group in the United States. TES is a not-for profit corporation located in New York City promoting sexual liberation for all adults, particularly those who enjoy consensual BDSM. TES provides classes, parties and events two to three times per week, all year long. TES was founded by Pat Bond in 1971, and has been a vibrant organization ever since.

Under LHOF rules, only three inductees are chosen each year. The two closest runners up in this years voting were writer and Kinsey researcher Sam Steward, and Mr. S. founder and community activist Alan Selby.

LHOF was formed to honor and preserve the legacy of the extraordinary men and women who have significantly impacted and shaped the history of the Leather/BDSM communities worldwide since 1950. Nominations can be made by anyone in the community, and the three inductees are selected by LHOF Board of Governors. The previous inductees are Tom of Finland, Chuck Renslow, John Willie, Tony DeBlase, The Satyrs MC and Frank Olson and Don Morrison. Learn more about all the inductees at the Leather Archives & Museum or at

The Leather Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies and Brunch will be held at CLAW 10 at the Gateway Conference Center at the Hilton Garden Inn in Cleveland, OH on Sunday, May 1, 2011 at 12 pm. We invite all leather people to join us to celebrate and honor the lives and accomplishments of these great inductees. Find out more and order your tickets now at

by admin | Monday 13 December 2010 10:51am | News | permalink | 0 comments


This entry has no comments yet.

Comment Entry Form

EMail (will not be displayed)
Verify Code
(type code into box)
Remember Me
Bold = Required


Previous : Satyrs, DeBlase and Olson/Morrison Selected for Leather Hall of Fame
Next : Guy Baldwin, Sam Steward and Irving Klaw Selected for Leather Hall of Fame




« September 2014 »



Recent Entries